Evicting tenants is one of the more unpleasant tasks that New Hampshire landlords must carry out. Whether you are a new landlord or you have plenty of experience, it is always a good idea to review the relevant landlord-tenant laws in New Hampshire. Ensuring that you follow the applicable laws will save you time and money. If you need help in a Manchester eviction process, the attorneys at Ward Law Group are prepared to help you fight for your rights. We are available to address your legal challenges and provide you with strong representation.
Landlords Must Prove Legal Cause for Eviction in New Hampshire
Before you can evict a tenant, you need to have legal cause. Some examples of legal causes for eviction include violation of the lease agreement, damage to the rental property and, of course, failure to pay rent. Before evicting a tenant, the landlord must terminate the tenancy by giving the tenant written notice.
Landlords can Provide a Seven-Day Notice to Pay Rent or Quit
If your tenant is not paying the rent, you can give him or her a seven-day notice to pay rent or quit. This written notice must also include a written demand for the payment of rent. If the tenant does not pay rent or move out within seven days of receiving the notice, you can start a New Hampshire eviction lawsuit against your tenant.
Landlords Can Issue a Seven Day Unconditional Quit Notice
The following situations warrant giving your tenant seven days to quit the property regardless of payment:
- Your tenant caused severe damage to your rental unit or the surrounding property; or
- Your tenant causes other tenants or the landlord harm
If either of these situations happens, you may legally start the eviction process after giving your tenant a seven-day unconditional quit notice. If your tenant does not move out within seven days of receiving the notice, you can file an eviction lawsuit against your tenant.
Landlords can Issue Tenants a 30-Day Notice to Quit
If your tenant violates the lease agreement, you are within your rights to give him or her a 30-day notice. If your tenant does not “cure” the problem by fixing the lease violation or leave the property within 30 days. As a landlord, you do not need to give the tenant time to correct the lease violation. If your tenant has not left your property within 30 days of serving the notice, you may legally file an eviction lawsuit against the tenant.
If You Need to Help in a New Hampshire Eviction or Landlord-Tenant Issue, We can Help
Handling eviction issues can be stressful, especially for landlords who manage multiple rental properties. The New Hampshire landlord and tenant attorneys at Ward Law Group are ready to use their legal skills to help you. We strongly advocate on our behalf of our clients and will help you resolve your landlord-tenant issue efficiently and effectively. Contact us to set up your initial consultation.