Covid-19-travel-restrictions-for-NE-states-if-traveling-from-New-Hampshire

COVID-19 Travel Guidelines for New England States if Traveling from New Hampshire

NOTE: THIS INFORMATION WAS PUBLISHED DECEMBER 16, 2020. FOR CURRENT REGULATIONS, PLEASE VISIT THE OFFICIAL SITES FOR EACH STATE TO BE SURE YOU HAVE THE MOST UP TO DATE INFORMATION.

Traveling this year has become extremely restricted as state after state revises their travel restrictions in an attempt to lessen the spread of COVID-19. The CDC recommends that individuals celebrate Christmas at home and limit travel, but, for those who are planning to travel, be sure to check the requirements for each state before you visit. Failing to do so could result in a $500 or $1,000 fine. Below, please find the travel restrictions for Maine, Vermont, Massachusetts, Connecticut and Rhode Island.

Maine (Travel Guidelines)

Maine’s travel restrictions include an exemption for New Hampshire and Vermont. Visitors are strongly urged to “Know Before You Go,” and be tested and receive results in their home state before traveling to Maine, which will allow them to take appropriate action depending on the result. However, there are no official requirements for visitors from New Hampshire and Vermont.

All other states are mandated to follow the requirements below:

  • Quarantine for 10 days following your arrival or test within 72 hours of your arrival and receive a negative test result.
  • Fill out a Maine Certificate of Compliance.

Vermont (Travel Guidelines)

All visitors to Vermont are required to quarantine (see here for guidelines on how to quarantine or here for more details).

If staying at a lodging, campground, or other accommodations, you will be required to certify that you meet the quarantine requirement, have traveled from a county with similar active COVID-19 caseload per the Vermont Agency of Commerce and Community Development (ACCD), or are an essential/authorized worker. While operators of these locations are allowed to use electronic ways to collect your confirmation, you may want to bring a signed form. As of December 16, 2020, Vermont is accepting the Certificate of Compliance published by the ACCD.

Massachusetts (Travel Order)

Unless traveling from a low-risk state, all visitors to Massachusetts are required to follow the guidelines below.

  • Quarantine for 14 days unless you are coming from a low-risk state, can produce, on request, proof of a negative test result for COVID-19 from a test administered on a sample taken not longer than 72 hours before your arrival in Massachusetts, or meet the exemption criteria.
  • Fill out Massachusetts Travel Form.

Failure to complete the travel form or comply with the quarantine if applicable may result in a $500 fine per day.

Connecticut (Travel Guidelines)

Travelers to Connecticut, from the United States, who are not traveling from Rhode Island, New York, New Jersey, or Hawaii are required to follow the guidelines below.

Failure to quarantine or submit the Connecticut Travel Health Form will result in a $500 fine per violation.

Rhode Island (Travel Guidelines)

Anyone coming to Rhode Island from a state with current travel restrictions (New Hampshire included) will need to quarantine for 14 days after arrival or provide proof of a negative result from a COVID-19 test taken within 72 hours prior to arrival.